Colloquia Spring 2007

Spring 2007

Information about past colloquia is available here.

Date
Speaker
Title
Wednesday, January 17, 2007 Paul O. Lewis, University of Connecticut Phylogenetic Model Selection and the Polytomy Problem
Wednesday, January 24, 2007 Nicholas J. Horton, Smith College Much ado about nothing: methods and implementations to estimate incomplete data regression models
Wednesday, January 31, 2007 Yoav Benjamini, Tel-Aviv University What Can Be Learned about False Discovery Rates from Very Large Problems
Wednesday, February 07, 2007 Uri Eden, Boston University Point Process Filters Applied to the Analysis of Spiking Neural Systems
Wednesday, February 14, 2007 Richard Nickl, University of Connecticut Uniform Central Limit Theorems for Density Estimators
Wednesday, February 21, 2007 Robb Muirhead, Pfizer Global Res. & Dev. Random Rotations and Statistical Inference about QT Signals
Friday, March 02, 2007 Cheng-Der Fuh, National Central University and Academia Sinica Estimation in Hidden Markov Models via Efficient Importance Sampling
Wednesday, March 14, 2007 Yongmiao Hong, Cornell University Joint Economics and Statistics colloquium: Generalized Residual-Based Diagnostic Testing for Duration Models with Censoring
Monday, March 19, 2007 Richard Nickl, University of Connecticut Uniform Central Limit Theorems for Density Estimators
Wednesday, March 21, 2007 Hariharan Swaminathan & H. Jane Rogers, University of Connecticut Bayesian Estimation of Random Coefficients in Multilevel Models
Wednesday, March 28, 2007 Ta-Hsin Li, IBM T. J. Watson Research Center A Statistical Framework of Optimal Workload Consolidation with Application to Capacity Planning for On-Demand Computing
Wednesday, April 11, 2007 Xiaotong Shen, University of Minnesota Efficient large margin semisupervised learning
Wednesday, April 18, 2007 Leonard A. Stefanski, North Carolina State University Some Contributions to the Theory, Practice and Teaching of Variable Selection Methods
Monday, April 23, 2007 Jianqing Fan, Princeton University Sure Independence Screening for Ultra-High Dimensional Feature Space
Wednesday, April 25, 2007 John Buonaccorsi, Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst Measurement/Observation Error in a Random Walk with Drift: Consequences and Correction