Colloquia Fall 2014

Fall 2014 

Date
Location
Tentative Topic or Title TBA
Speaker
Wed, Sep 03 4:00-5:30 AUST 105 Faculty Research Overviews I Uconn Faculty; Uconn
Wed, Sep 10 4:00-5:30 AUST 105 Faculty Research Overviews II Uconn Faculty; Uconn
Wed, Sep 17 4:00PM AUST 105 Asymptotic Composite Estimation Lixing Zhu; Hong Kong Baptist University
Mon, Sep 22 4:40PM AUST 344 Special Lecture Series (1/3): “Why dimension reduction and how dimension reduction – some basic concepts” Lixing Zhu; Hong Kong Baptist University
Wed, Sep 24 4:00PM AUST 105 Dimensional Analysis and Its Applications in Statistics Dennis Lin; Pennsylvania State University
Mon, Sep 29 4:40PM AUST 344 Special Lecture Series (2/3): “Dimension reduction estimation: can linear methods solve nonlinear problems?” Lixing Zhu; Hong Kong Baptist University
Wed, Oct 01 4:00PM UMASS – Lederle Graduate Research Center (LGRT) room 1634 {Uconn/Umass Joint Colloquium} Online Updating of Statistical Inference in the Big Data Setting Elizabeth Schifano; Uconn
Mon, Oct 06 4:40PM AUST 344 Special Lecture Series (3/3): “Estimation – can inverse regression methods solve forward regression problems?” Lixing Zhu; Hong Kong Baptist University
Wed, Oct 08 4:00PM AUST 105 Semiparametric Approach to Dimension Reduction Yanyuan Ma; TAMU
Wed, Oct 08 2:00PM AUST 326 Special Statistics Seminar: Estimation for Ultra-High Dimensional Factor Model: a Pivotal Variable Detection-Based Approach Lixing Zhu; Hong Kong Baptist University
Wed, Oct 15 4:00PM AUST 105 Reflections on the Probability Space Induced by Moment Conditions with Implications for Bayesian Inference A. Rollard Gallant; Pennsylvania State University
Wed, Oct 22 4:00PM AUST 105 Leveraging for Logistic Regression with Big Data Haiying Wang; University of New Hamsphere
Wed, Oct 29 4:00PM AUST 105 Quantile Regression for Survival Data with Delayed Entry Jing Qian; University of Massachusetts
Wed, Nov 05 4:00PM AUST 105 Bayesian spatial models for small area estimation with complex survey data Cici Chen Bauer; Brown University
Wed, Nov 12 4:00PM AUST 105 Repeated Out of Sample Fusion in Interval Estimation of Small Tail Probabilities in Food Safety Benjamin Kedem; University of Maryland
Wed, Nov 19 4:00PM AUST 105 Learning with Dual Heterogeneity: A Nonparametric Bayes Model Hongxia Yang; IBM
Wed, Dec 03 4:00PM AUST 105 Posterior-predictive treatment assignments and the estimation of causal effects Corwin Zigler; Harvard University

Colloquium is organized by Professor Xiaojing Wang.  Graduate assistants are responsible for set up according to this schedule.