Colloquia Fall 2008

Fall 2008

Information about past colloquia is available here.

Date
Speaker
Title
Wednesday, August 27, 2008 Faculty Presentations
Wednesday, September 03, 2008 Faculty Presentations
Wednesday, September 10, 2008 Gerardo Hernandez-del-Valle, Columbia University On The Brennan-Schwartz Process, Self-Similar P.D.E.’s And The Density Of Averaged Geometric Brownian Motion
Wednesday, September 17, 2008 Chunrong Zhang, University of Connecticut Nonlinear Markov Chain Geostatistics for Prediction and Simulation of Categorical Spatial Variables
Wednesday, September 24, 2008 Lisha Chen, Yale Univeristy Nonlinear Dimension Reduction through Local Multidimensional Scaling
Wednesday, October 01, 2008 Samiran Sinha, Texas A&M University A New Semiparametric Procedure for Matched Case-Control Studies with Missing Covariates
Wednesday, October 08, 2008 Alejandro Veen,  IBM Watson Research Center (Yorktown) Estimation of Space-time Point Process Models in Seismology and Model Assessment
Wednesday, October 15, 2008 Mayetri Gupta, Boston University Statistical challenges in the analysis of high-throughput genomic data
Friday, October 24, 2008 Rajeshwari Sundaram, NIH, DHHS Analyzing recurrent events data in presence of terminal events
Wednesday, October 29, 2008 Tong Zhang, Rutgers University Two Algorithms for Learning Sparse Representations
Wednesday, November 05, 2008 Marco A. R. Ferreira, Department of Statistics, University of Missouri – Columbia Dynamic Bayesian Multiscale Modeling
Friday, November 07, 2008 Banerjee Sudipto, University of Minnesota Hierarchical spatial modeling of additive and dominance genetic variance for large spatial trial datasets
Wednesday, November 12, 2008 Nalini Ravishanker, UMass-UConn joint colloquium at the Department of Mathematics at UMass An Effective Estimation Approach for Vector Long Memory Time Series with Application to Weather Derivatives Pricing
Wednesday, November 26, 2008 Thanksgiving recess, no seminars
Wednesday, December 03, 2008 Jason Fine, University of North Carolina, School of Public Health Revisiting competing risks data