Colloquia Fall 2005

Fall 2005

Information about past colloquia is available here.

Date
Speaker
Title
Wednesday, August 31, 2005 Y. Wang, D. Dey, M.H. Chen, J. Glaz Faculty Presentations
Wednesday, September 07, 2005 E. Alvarez, L. Kuo, C. M’Lan, V. Pozdnyakov Faculty Presentations
Wednesday, September 14, 2005 N. Mukhopadhyay, N. Ravishanker, R. Vitale, O. Harel Faculty Presentations
Wednesday, September 21, 2005 Harry Zhou, Yale University Quantile Coupling Inequalities for Symmetric Random Variables and their Applications
Wednesday, September 28, 2005 Wanli Min, IBM On Processes Generated from Weakly Dependent Sequence
Wednesday, October 05, 2005 Michael Keane, Department of Mathematics, Wesleyan University On Spontaneous Emergence of Opinions: Results and Conjectures Concerning Reinforced Random Walks
Wednesday, October 19, 2005 Zhiyi Chi, Department of Statistics, U of Connecticut-Storrs Joint UConn-UMass Colloquium at UMass:  A bottleneck of FDR and a way to break it
Wednesday, October 26, 2005 Zhezhen Jin, Department of Biostatistics, Columbia University Some Statistical Issues and Methods in the Analysis of Data from Alzheimer’s Disease Studies
Saturday, November 05, 2005 Chris C. Heyde, Australian National University and Columbia University 2005 Pfizer Colloquium:  A Futuristic View on a Half-century of Statistics and Applied Probability.    “Conversation” with Steven Kou and Sidney Resnic.
Friday, November 11, 2005 Bhramar Mukherjee, University of Florida Bayesian Analysis of Case-Control Studies
Wednesday, November 16, 2005 Samuel Kou, Harvard University Equi-energy sampler: From statistical inference to statistical mechanics
Wednesday, November 30, 2005 Hannes Leeb, Yale University Model selection and inference in regression when the number of explanatory variable is of the same order as sample size
Wednesday, December 07, 2005 Xihong Lin, Department of Biostatistics, Harvard University Nonparametric and Semiparametric Regression for Longitudinal/Clustered Data and High-Dimensional Data