Author: Lim, Heeju

– Prof. Robert Aseltine (UCHC), Prof. Kun Chen (UConn) and Fei Wang (Cornell) have been awarded an NIH R01 grant.

Kun Chen, Robert Aseltine from UCHC, Fei Wang from Cornell Medicine have just been awarded an NIH grant on developing suicide risk algorithms for diverse clinical settings using data fusion (R01-MH124740). Project title: Developing Suicide Risk Algorithms for Diverse Clinical Settings using Data Fusion. This is a four-year multi-PI grant from 09/2020 to 06/2024. We propose to use data from a large multi-state health information exchange, integrated with hospital data from the State of Connecticut, to develop and test suicide risk algorithms using principles associated with statistical data fusion and transfer learning. We will also team up with local hospitals to develop clinical supporting tools.

– The 25th Pfizer/ASA/UConn Distinguished Statistician Colloquium (October 14, 2020)

The 25th Pfizer/ASA/UConn Distinguished Statistician Colloquium 


The department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut is honored to announce the 25th Distinguished Statistician Colloquium. The Pfizer colloquium series ran from 1978 until 2012 and was renewed in 2018. The colloquium series featured C. R. Rao, Bradley Efron, D.R. Cox, Grace Wahba and many more. For a complete list, see The purpose of the Colloquium is to provide a forum for a distinguished statistician to share and disseminate their unique perspective and work in the theory and/or application of statistics. Starting from 2018, the series has been co-sponsored by Pfizer, the American Statistical Association, and the Department of Statistics at the University of Connecticut. 


This year’s speaker at the 25th Pfizer Distinguished Statistician Series will be Professor Emerita Nan Laird from Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. This year colloquium will be virtual and will take place on Wednesday, October 14th, 2020 from 3:00-5:00pmEST. The interview will be conducted by Christoph Lange (Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health) and Joseph Hogan (Brown University). 


The lecture and the interview are open to the public but pre-registration will be needed for a link to the webcast.  The event registration website is:   


If you have questions, please contact, Juliet Kapsis at or . 


We thank Pfizer and the ASA for their generous financial support. We also thank the members of the selection committee – Dan Meyer and Demissie Alemayehu from Pfizer, Ron Wasserstein and Nancy Flournoy from the ASA, and Dipak Dey (Chair), Joseph Glaz and Ming-Hui Chen from UConn. Professor Chen also represents the New England Statistical Society (NESS). 


– Professor Xiaojing Wang’s Research Excellence Program (REP) proposal has been selected for funding.

We are very pleased to inform you that Professor Wang’s Research Excellence Program (REP) proposal for AY 2019-2020 entitled “The Promise of Bayesian Learning in Mobile Health” has been selected for funding in the amount of $25,000. Her project will make a valuable contribution to her field of inquiry and to the intellectual climate of the University as a whole.



– Professor Dipak Dey has been selected to be a recipient of the 2020 IISA(International Indian Statistical Association) Service Award.

We are very pleased to inform you that Professor Dipak Dey has been selected by the 2020 IISA Awards Committee to be a recipient of the IISA(International Indian Statistical Association) Service Award. Dr. Dey’s selection is a testament to his accomplishments and impactful service to the profession of statistics. The selection committee comprised of senior and respected and statisticians unequivocally recommended Professor Dey for the IISA 2020 Service Award.

The Service Award (SA) recognizes dedicated members of the association including India Chapter members who have rendered exceptional service to the IISA community, and represent ‘models of excellence’ to the IISA members. Exceptional service includes outstanding leadership by creating a purpose for energetic members to be vigorously engaged in innovative IISA activities; demonstrating vision, creativity, and dedication for identifying new members for meritorious engagement.


– Professor Ming-Hui Chen received 2020 International Chinese Statisticians Association (ICSA) Distinguished Achievement Award.

Professor Ming-Hui Chen received the 2020 International Chinese Statisticians Association (ICSA) Distinguished Achievement Award. For outstanding contributions to research in Bayesian methodology, Bayesian computation, categorical data analysis, meta-analysis, survival data analysis, and analysis of missing data; for innovative interdisciplinary work within industry and medicine, especially in advancing the understanding and the management of prostate cancer and complications from its treatment; and for significant contributions to the development and growth of ICSA and exceptional leadership for the statistical community.


– Jackson Lautier has received a 2020 National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (NSF GRFP).

We are pleased to announce that Jackson Lautier has been selected to receive a 2020 National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship (GRF).  The Graduate Research Fellowships are highly competitive.  A list of 2020 awardees can be found here:

The purpose of the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) is to help ensure the vitality and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States. The program recognizes and supports outstanding graduate students who are pursuing full-time research-based master’s and doctoral degrees in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) or in STEM education. The GRFP provides three years of support for the graduate education of individuals who have demonstrated their potential for significant research achievements in STEM or STEM education. NSF especially encourages women, members of underrepresented minority groups, persons with disabilities, veterans, and undergraduate seniors to apply.

The NSF expects to award 1,600 Graduate Research Fellowships per fiscal year under this program solicitation pending availability of funds.

Each Fellowship consists of three years of support during a five-year fellowship period. Currently, NSF provides a stipend of $34,000 to the Fellow and a cost-of-education allowance of $12,000 to the graduate degree-granting institution for each Fellow who uses the fellowship support in a fellowship year.

UCONN today article can be found at the following links: UCONN today article