Author: ars13025

– 2018 ASA Datafest Competition

A team of UConn undergraduates (Team 3squRls) Adam Busa (Mathematics-Statistics 2018), Aleya Hafez (Mathematics-Statistics 2018) and Tom Kennon (Statistics 2018) won an award for “Best Data Integration” at the American Statistical Association (ASA) Datafest competition, held at Wesleyan University from April 6-8. The students’ task was to analyze a BIG and complex dataset provided by ASA (Still not allowed to disclose), and provide new insights. The students were advised by Professor Ofer Harel, Professor Nalini Ravishanker, and graduate student Wenjie Wang. Also in attendance to support the UConn team were graduate students, Austin Menger and former graduate (and participant) Sam Schick.

Click here for more information.

– Nitis Mukhopadhyay awarded Honorary Fellowship of IASSL

The Institute of Applied Statistics Sri Lanka (IASSL) recently (December 2017) awarded Professor Nitis Mukhopadhyay the prestigious Honorary Fellowship for his broad ranging contributions and service towards the Institute of Applied Statistics Sri Lanka (IASSL).

The first Honorary Fellowship to IASSL was bestowed upon Professor C. R. Rao in 2011. Dr. Mukhopadhyay is the second honoree.

– Students elected to Phi Beta Kappa

We’re pleased to announce that the following students in Statistics have been elected to Phi Beta Kappa this year. Phi Beta Kappa is the nation’s oldest and most widely recognized honors society, celebrating achievement in the liberal arts and sciences.

  • Francisco Tomas Cifuentes Villarroel
  • Sarah Cynthia Crothers
  • Jessica Hope Lerner
  • Samuel Schick
  • Emily Elizabeth Stiles

Congratulations to these students for their hard work and academic excellence.